Home MoxiDrive Files & Synchronization Article
MoxiDrive includes a server side Encryption app, and when it is enabled by your MoxiDrive administrator all of your MoxiDrive data files are automatically encrypted on the server. Encryption is server-wide, so when it is enabled you cannot choose to keep your files unencrypted. You don’t have to do anything special, as it uses your MoxiDrive login as the password for your unique private encryption key. Just log in and out and manage and share your files as you normally do, and you can still change your password whenever you want.
Its main purpose is to encrypt files on remote storage services that are connected to your MoxiDrive server. This is an easy and seamless way to protect your files on remote storage. You can share your remote files through MoxiDrive in the usual way, however, you cannot share your encrypted files directly from the remote service you are using, because the encryption keys are stored on your MoxiDrive server, and are never exposed to outside service providers.
If your MoxiDrive server is not connected to any remote storage services, then it is better to use some other form of encryption such as file-level or whole disk encryption.
How can encryption be disabled?
The only way to disable encryption is to run the “decrypt all” script, which decrypts all files and disables encryption.
Is it possible to disable encryption with the recovery key?
Yes, if every user uses the file recovery key, “decrypt all” will use it to decrypt all files.
Can encryption be disabled without the user’s password?
If you don’t have the users password or file recovery key, then there is no way to decrypt all files. What’s more, running it on login would be dangerous, because you would most likely run into timeouts.
Is it planned to move this to the next user login or a background job?
If we did that, then we would need to store your login password in the database. This could be seen as a security issue, so nothing like that is planned.
Is group Sharing possible with the recovery key?
If you mean adding users to groups and make it magically work? No. This only works with the master key.
MoxiDrive encryption is pretty much set it and forget it, but you have a few options you can use.
When your MoxiDrive administrator enables encryption for the first time, you must log out and then log back in to create your encryption keys and encrypt your files. When encryption has been enabled on your MoxiDrive server you will see a yellow banner on your Files page warning you to log out and then log back in:
When you log back in it takes a few minutes to work, depending on how many files you have, and then you are returned to your default MoxiDrive page.
You must never lose your MoxiDrive password, because you will lose access to your files. Though there is an optional recovery option that your MoxiDrive administrator may enable; see the Recovery Key Password section (below) to learn about this.
Sharing encrypted files
Only users who have private encryption keys have access to shared encrypted files and folders. Users who have not yet created their private encryption keys will not have access to encrypted shared files; they will see folders and filenames, but will not be able to open or download the files. They will see a yellow warning banner that says “Encryption App is enabled but your keys are not initialized, please log-out and log-in again.”
Share owners may need to re-share files after encryption is enabled; users trying to access the share will see a message advising them to ask the share owner to re-share the file with them. For individual shares, un-share and re-share the file. For group shares, share with any individuals who can’t access the share. This updates the encryption, and then the share owner can remove the individual shares.
Recovery key password
If your MoxiDrive administrator has enabled the recovery key feature, you can choose to use this feature for your account. If you enable “Password recovery” the administrator can read your data with a special password. This feature enables the administrator to recover your files in the event you lose your MoxiDrive password. If the recovery key is not enabled, then there is no way to restore your files if you lose your login password.
Files not encrypted
Only the data in your files is encrypted, and not the filenames or folder structures. These files are never encrypted:
Old files in the trash bin.
Image thumbnails from the Gallery app.
Previews from the Files app.
The search index from the full text search app.
Third-party app data
Only those files that are shared with third-party storage providers can be encrypted, the rest of the files may not be encrypted.
Change private key password
This option is only available if the encryption password has not been changed by the administrator, but only the log-in password. This can occur if your MoxiDrive provider uses an external user back-end (for example, LDAP) and changed your login password using that back-end configuration. In this case, you can set your encryption password to your new login password by providing your old and new login password. The Encryption app works only if your login password and your encryption password are identical.
[ 0 Out of 0 Found Helpful ]
Submit a ticket and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible.